Skip to content

Toast!

February 9, 2013

Actually this Post is not about Toast (I had to say that), it’s about COFFEE!

More specifically it’s about the lack of great coffee in my new part of the world…

I know if I go West I can get great coffee.

Unfortunately in the East (other than in the big city centres I expect) great coffee, or more specifically great Espresso is largely absent. I guess for a country that measures Espresso by the output of Starbucks (and that many find Starbucks too bitter) – it should not be too surprising that finding great espresso is a major challenge.

My biggest horror story so far is going to a Café 90 minutes south carefully perusing the list of Espresso’s and watching as they made Chrissy’s Latte with actual Espresso and then walking around to the coffee urn and dispensing mine from the coffee urn. I felt like vaporizing and putting myself in an urn!

It has really impressed upon me how New Zealand has truly developed a coffee culture; even hardened country folk in small towns can dance their way through the espresso selection and understand the difference between steamed and scalded milk.

I still chuckle that when I left Belgium last time I got a flat white at Starbucks at the airport – I couldn’t believe it – it was a new thing for them, and it wasn’t too bad. I optimistically thought I would be able to follow it to North America, but alas it is yet to be seen. We know there is a café in DC that serves a flat white and a good friend of ours has suggested I just show someone how to make it. I’m thinking that day is coming.

Yum Flat White

Yum Flat White

I can’t rely on trips to New Zealand to get someone else to make me one! (when you have coffee at home you almost have no choice – that’s what I’m making you and I will say the north American milk is just as good as the New Zealand milk, where as the European milk was dreadful). So here is to one thing I know on average NZ does do better than probably all the rest – Espresso.

And a last gripe – ‘yes I’d like my coffee in’. Over here that means you’ll have your takeaway cup here – I mean what’s the point of telling them you’re going to have it here if  ‘in’ is ‘in a takeaway cardboard cup’?  Maybe my next trick is a set of cheap coffee cups to put in the car and take them into the café and get them to make it in a real cup, I mean really!!

So if you are a north American reading this and have recommendations on great espresso coffee within 100 miles of winchester Virginia – let me know!

And why Toast? Well I stumbled across a piece of musical genius which has become a family favourite – Heywood Banks and his song Toast:

All around the country and coast to coast
People always say what do you like most
I don’t wanna brag I don’t wanna boast
I always tell them I like toast

Yeah Toast!
Yeah Toast!

I get up in the morning about 6 am
Have a little jelly have a little jam
Take a piece of bread put it in the slot
Push down the lever and the wires get hot I get toast

Yeah Toast!
Yeah Toast!

Now there’s no secret to toasting perfection
There’s a dial on the side and you make your selection
Push to the dark or the light and then
If it pops too soon press down again make toast

Yeah Toast!
Yeah Toast!

When the first cave man drove in from the dregs
Didn’t know what would go with the bacon and the eggs
Must’ve been a genius got it in his head
Plug the toaster in the wall buy a bag of bread make toast

Yeah Toast!
Yeah Toast!

Oui monsieur bonjour coquette
Uh huh croissante vous et ver
Maurice Chevalier Eiffel Tower
Oui Marie baguette bon soir

French Toast!
French Toast!

Cowboy, Enron, Longhorn, steer,
Barbara, Jenna, and George W.
143 Executions….

TEXAS TOAST!!
TEXAS TOAST!!

From → Cuisine

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

